Education Food Nutrition's

What are the 5 parts of the Food Pyramid

Food Pyramid

Food Pyramid

The Food Pyramid (piramid makanan) was created to make eating healthy more convenient. It depicts the many food groups and how much of each we require for a balanced diet. Eating a “balanced” diet means getting the proper amount of each food category. A well-balanced diet consists of various foods that provide our bodies with all of the nutrients they require. There is no single food that can supply us with all of the nutrients we need. To stay healthy, we require a variety of foods in various proportions.

It is critical for every one of us to eat healthily. It can help us feel better, look better, and maintain a healthy weight in the short term. A good, balanced diet can lower our risk of heart disease, diabetes, osteoporosis, and some malignancies in the long run.

What are the 5 parts of the Food Pyramid?

The healthy eating pyramid is organized into five levels of varying sizes, each reflecting one of the five food groups, starting at the bottom and working its way up:

  1. Starchy foods
  2. Fruit and vegetables
  3. Proteins
  4. Dairy
  5. Fats and sugars

Starchy Foods

These foods contain complex carbs, which are a valuable energy source and contain a significant amount of nutrition when they are not processed. Corn, wheat, pasta, and rice are just a few examples. This class of food is an excellent source of vitamins, minerals, and fibre. Choose whole-grain items over refined grain goods. Whole grain contains more fibre than refined grain. Eat between 4 and 8 servings every day.

Fruit and Vegetables

Make an effort to consume at least 5 servings of fruits and vegetables each day. Include a range of foods that will guarantee that you obtain a decent balance of vitamins and minerals daily, essential. Vitamins and minerals are abundant in vegetables. Nevertheless, different vegetables have varied micronutrients; it is vital to consume a diverse range of different vegetables.


Protein is required by the body to create and repair tissues. Because it is located in the middle of the food pyramid, it is recommended that you consume a reasonable amount at each meal. Among the high-quality proteins (those that are derived from animals and are easier for the body to absorb) are meat, fish, poultry, eggs, and dairy products, among other things. Reduced-quality proteins, such as those found in cereals, fruits, and vegetables, as well as peas and beans and nuts and seeds, contribute to your daily needs. Recommended daily serving:

½ – 2 servings of chicken, beef, or eggs per day

1 serving of fish

½ – 1 serving of beans and lentils


Dairy products are likewise located in the centre of the food pyramid. As such, we should consume it in moderate quantities at each meal. Choose from various dairy goods such as milk, cheese, yogurt, butter, cream, and other items derived from animal milk. It is high in protein and calcium-dense and contains many minerals and vitamins, including vitamin A, riboflavin, vitamin B12, and zinc. Milk helps to form strong bones and teeth, and it helps to maximize bone gain from a young age. Osteoporosis can be prevented later in life if you do this. Take 1-2 servings per day.

Fats and Sugars

The healthy eating pyramid includes fats and sugars. These are non-essential foods and should be eaten in moderation. Foods like cookies, crisps, cakes, pastries, and other processed foods like pizzas, ready-meals, and pies are high in calories and low in nutritional content. Avoid saturated fats (found in animal products like butter and pork), which can elevate cholesterol and harm your health.

The size of each food group shrinks from the bottom to the top of the food pyramid, indicating that an individual should consume more of the foods at the bottom of the pyramid and less of the foods at the top.